Daughter, Sister, Wife, Friend, Coordinator, Writer and Me!

Nothing much to talk about my personal life (not at the moment, I just hope I don’t need to blurt out something unexpected).


 


Ok, it’s actually about the situation here in the lovely place of Dubai. Did you know that most of the expatriates here are Indians and next to their number are Filipinos? Yes! A lot of our ‘kababayans’ are here to earn money and others just to be with their loved ones (like me! Hehe)


 


However, even if we are trying to build a small community here, the Filipinos here are not united. I don’t want to say anything bad but the Filipinos here are not-so-accommodating.


 


They treat their own as a competitor. It’s like survival of the fittest. One fine example is a person here at work. I just can’t believe her!!! She has this airy side of her as if she’s royalty. When we (meaning my other officemate and I) make a mistake, this girl goes directly to our bosses, slapping our mistake to their faces!!! (The nerve, really) On the other hand, if she’s the one who made a mistake, we don’t even utter a word to her boss… (the bitch)  


 


She really gets into my nerves at times. Like a bitch from royalty, she is so demanding!! She wants everything done fast but if we are the one requesting for something, she really takes time!!!


 


Just a sad situation here for Filipinos like me (and I thought that since we are in a foreign land, we would be more united) because we depend on our ‘kababayans’ to be there for us especially if you’re new here without any friends and stuff. However, there are still some Filipinos that are accommodating and all…


———–


 


Just last night, I began to have this sentimental mood. I felt that my friends forgot about me already. I don’t see messages from my email or offline messages in my messenger. Even my family and other relatives… This is what an expatriate feels in the lonely country she’s in – neglected at times. Now, I know what my cousin feels when she was in the States, always calling, telling us to email here even a short one just to let her know that we are there for her.

Comments on: "" (2)

  1. hey thanks for the support. i hope things will quiet down for you so you can write something amazing for the all world to see…or at least to satisfy that something …that something that makes us want to write in the first place. 🙂

  2. hey… i know how u feel darling… just hang in there… i’m sure eveything will turn out ok… always keep in mind that… U R NOT ALONE!!! 😉

Leave a Reply

