Daughter, Sister, Wife, Friend, Coordinator, Writer and Me!

I have been a member of the Poynter Online website for some years now. I especially like Ask the Recruiter section because Joe Grimm gives good advise on what can be your next step for your journalism career. I did ask him one time about my current situation and Joe did give me good advise (something I am not ready for 😛 Maybe in a couple of years).

I was going through the usual email when I saw this post about Daniel Shorr.

(image from http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=2101143)

First off, I kind of feel bad because I do not know who Daniel Shorr is and who are the other pillars of journalism. I am not sure if being a journalism graduate, we should know these stuff like computer programmers should know who invented the computer or even the history of computers.

I am still struggling to know who were the pillars of our local press. I do know that Benigno Aquino Sr. was one of them but this was already Martial Law how about the others? The pre-Martial Law heroes?

(The late Benigno Aquino Sr.)

I remember when we were having our History class, our teacher mentioned Marcelo H. Del Pilar being a newspaper man and that was it.

I hope in time, I will get to know these people not just because I’m a journalism graduate but also because they are part of our history of how everything came about. Why and how are we enjoying all these rights / freedom that they fought to have during their time.

I hope that I will be able to hear a milestone happen during my time so that I can proudly mention this to my grandchildren in one of their bedtime stories.

I hope.

Leave a Reply

